PDA

View Full Version : Downtime on 1st?


Furton
10-01-2002, 06:29 PM
What was wrong with the server today Steve? Couldn't accsess it for a few hours.

Steve_S
10-01-2002, 10:56 PM
Furton,

Sorry you couldn't reach us. I strongly suggest it's at your end.

No down time at my end. Humming along just dandy. Numerous diagnostics run througouth the day and I'm immediately sent a page, SMS message, called, and emailed if the server goes down and I also recieve these diagnostics throughout the day.

Even if I'm in the Pub or at the beach via wireless. :)

The box is also monitored from numerous locations throughout the world numerous times throught every hour of every day. This procedure includes a Ping and an HTTP request. Locations are:


10-01-2002 10:23:10 Oklahoma City USA OK 52609 1.36
10-01-2002 09:53:21 London UK OK 52549 14.66
10-01-2002 09:23:14 Los Angeles USA OK 52258 1.45
10-01-2002 08:53:14 Frankfurt GERMANY OK 52151 1.79
10-01-2002 08:23:10 Detroit USA OK 52475 1.30

If one location times out it moves onto the next location and so on untill it hits the alarm threshold and then I'm notified. This log looks just dandy.

Edit: I can also use the Admin of vB to see the number of registered users that hit the BB in the last 24 hours. As if I don't have enough data to worry about :)

HTH and sorry if I went into to much detail.


:angel:

Furton
10-02-2002, 06:06 AM
Ah, right. Was just a bit odd since every other site worked except GV, strange.