PDA

View Full Version : [Resolved. Thank you.]My logging problem


Rhea
06-21-2002, 06:54 AM
Hey Steve,

The funny thing is, when I enter GV through http://66.33.83.213/forums/ the system doesn't acknowledge me as already logged in. It does allow me to log in, even though I'm 'permanently' logged in through http://www.geekvillage.com/forums. Weird, huh?

Jan
06-21-2002, 07:07 AM
Yeah I noticed that too when two forums starting with the 66.33 IP went off air as far as my ISP could read. The www. didn't work with both forums so I used the IP addresses and got through, but had to log in to both. It only lasted a couple of days then the www worked again.

The wonders of technology :rolleyes:

Rhea
06-21-2002, 07:34 AM
Jan, I wonder if maybe I was trapped in a kind of no-man's land when Steve was tinkering with the settings that differentiate the two URLs. I used to use the 66. URL exclusively, until images started showing up as broken, and then I switched to the geekvillage.com URL.

I don't mind being logged-in permanently, saves a little time. :) Maybe some day I'll get into the Guinness Book of World Records as the longest, perpetually logged-in user of a forum. :p

Jan
06-21-2002, 07:45 AM
Originally posted by Rhea
Maybe some day I'll get into the Guinness Book of World Records as the longest, perpetually logged-in user of a forum. :p
Nah, I will beat you so long as the www continues working :angel:

Steve_S
07-01-2002, 02:08 PM
It's not smart enough to do what you want and designed to run from a domain name and not an IP. You can't configue both in Admin. The same can be said for other BB scripts that also use a cookie to remember stuff.

Iv'e been loged in on one machine for almost a year :)

Just log in via:


www.geekvillage.com/forums/ and don't use the IP to reach the BB.


If you forget it, you can use:

www.geek.g17.com

HTH