PDA

View Full Version : Search page not cachable?


demae
07-21-2001, 08:55 PM
When I go to the "Search" page and submit a query, if I use the BACK button to return to the Search page, my browser reloads the page (and loses what I typed in the form) instead of pulling it from the cache. Can this be fixed, or is it a problem with Opera (my browser)?

Jan
07-21-2001, 09:24 PM
I just tried it with Netscape, and the same thing happened to me.

:lurk:

Steve_S
07-21-2001, 10:23 PM
Nice observation. Not sure. I think you mean "the search term" is not cached but neverthe less I get the same rhing as you do with a very quick test of IE 5.

Again, the results can still be obtained via the various pages numbers moving forward and back and it appears to work with the back button. But not the term. Lost in the bit bucket :)

No hacks to any code for fixes untill we are sure that things are cool. I anticipate at least 1 month of frozen code. I'm very very very conservative. Upgrades/point releases will be considered on a case by case basis.

George? Ted?

I will also ask about this on the vB mother ship :)