PDA

View Full Version : Web designer vs Programmer

fiberglass
06-06-2010, 05:19 AM
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie. I want to ask if being a Web designer is enough to start this Internet Marketing. Is Programming skill a necessity and which language is good for startup? I though there are ready made designs which only requires some Visual redesigning without the need of modification at the programming level.
Thanks for the help

flammableeye
07-12-2010, 09:27 AM
What exactly are you planning to do? Programming isn't necessary however it may be very useful. A good language to be fluent in is PHP, as this is the most common prgramming language on the web. However there are always ready made scripts that just require some cosmetics.

JanHask
09-22-2010, 12:56 PM
Well, just for starting, HTML, and then PHP, and maybe for some stuff javascript, or ajax.

Jayres10
10-28-2010, 10:31 AM
I feel that you don't have to do everything yourself. Why not outsource some or get a partner. In the internet marketing business, designing and programming the sites are not enough. You have to possess some leadership skills and be able to offer some directions to your clients.

truckinc
11-01-2010, 04:04 AM
if your are going for business so designing is good to start with webdesign but if you want to expand your business so you have to put up your knowledge in programing also.

butterflyseo
11-01-2010, 08:47 PM
if you do and can create a website, even in basic ways. i think this would be enough, more the less you have the internet marketing experience.

credasys
11-15-2010, 12:32 PM
Programming is very useful if you are developing a site. Being a web designer is not enough if you really want a good-looking and functionable site.

infoman66
11-16-2010, 10:57 AM
Each designer must be familiar with HTML and CSS ...
It is enough to design a site ...
Any other knowledge is welcome (Php, asp, javascript etc) ...

caffeinefreenoob
11-17-2010, 03:43 PM