| Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk |
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 334
|
I got this e-mail today, I'm wondering if it's really a direct e-mail from half.com, or if it's a spam with someone's affiliate link made to look like it's from half.com.
The text of the message is: ========= OLE_LINK1I came across your site and noticed the great content you have. Half.com is an eBay company, which offers people a fixed-price marketplace to buy and sell high quality products at discounted prices. After becoming the fastest growing shopping site ever on the Internet, we have recently added millions of new categories to our inventory. After looking at your site I recognize the value that you could bring to Half.com. We want to partner with your company, and for every new customer you send to Half.com we will pay you. Our program is fast, easy and free to join. Many of our partners earn thousands of dollars each month. For more information visit our site at: <http://www.half.com/affmail?ad=XXXXX> www.half.com/affmail?ad=XXXXX We also offer direct product links and special offers for new buyers. How about a direct link to our trading cards or sports equipment? Don't hesitate to contact me with any questions or comments. Looking forward to working with you, Daria Benstead Marketing Half.com Inc. (An eBay company) 500 South Gravers Rd Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462-1719 (610) 680-4037 dbenstea@half.com ========= I took out the number offered (it was 49540) just so if it is spam the person doesn't get credit for someone who clicks on it. I'm thinking that it could be a trick -- someone composes an e-mail for half.com and gets a referral bonus for the people who sign up for their affiliate program. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 387
|
I would email half.com and ask them. If it didn't come from them they can take care of the spammer, if it did come from them you know who to complain about.
Did you check the source code of the email to see if it was sent through a half.com server? ------------------ http://www.perfectpresence.com - Web Hosting and Domain Registration http://www.messagefriends.com - Get your own Message Board |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Spam of a strange sort | Kathy | Web Design and Webmaster Issues | 6 | 12-12-2001 11:31 PM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:19 AM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Web Design and Webmaster Issues | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:13 AM |
| Anyone want to offer free e-mail? | Guava | Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell | 1 | 06-25-2000 04:12 PM |
![]()