Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR CREATION: Building & Maintaining A Web Site > Web Design and Webmaster Issues
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2001, 06:55 PM   #1
melody1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 23
Question Installing MySQL on Cobalt RaQ4i

I am trying to install MySQL on my Cobalt RaQ4i dedicated server and am running into few problems. Can those who have already done this please help me!!

This is what I have done so far. I obtained the latest RPMs using the following commands from telnet:

wget http://www.mysql.com/Downloads/MySQL....38-1.i386.rpm
wget http://www.mysql.com/Downloads/MySQL....38-1.i386.rpm
wget http://www.mysql.com/Downloads/MySQL....38-1.i386.rpm
wget http://www.mysql.com/Downloads/MySQL....38-1.i386.rpm
wget http://www.mysql.com/Downloads/MySQL....38-1.i386.rpm

I then tried to install from root id using:
rpm -Uvh MySQL-*
and it failed with the following error:

[root rpms]# rpm -Uvh MySQL-*
error: failed dependencies:
MySQL-DBI-perl-bin is needed by MySQL-bench-3.23.38-1

I then got the CPAN module from http://www.cpan.org/modules/by-modul...AN-1.54.tar.gz and tried to install after a "make install" and "perl -MCPAN -e shell". Then it gives error:

Failed to determine directory of mysql.h. Use
perl Makefile.PL --cflags=-I<dir>

I am not sure what I am missing. I don't know if just copying mysql.h will solve the problem. Has anyone run into these problems and how did you solve them?. Thanks in advance.

------------------
Melody1
melody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2001, 03:03 AM   #2
TLXchange
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8
Unhappy

Hello Melody,
You better search at webhostingtalk.com This questions was asked many times there.
I personnaly used Cobalt version of MySQl which is a bit old(3.22) but realy easy to install.

------------------
www.tlxchange.com - Text Link Exchange Network
TLXchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2001, 06:23 AM   #3
melody1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 23
Unhappy

TLXchange, thanks for your message. I went to http://pkg.nl.cobalt.com and found a package of later version than you installed - RaQ3-RaQ4-MySQL 3.23.37-1. Is there any reason why you did not go in for 3.23 on Cobalt?.
melody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2001, 06:57 AM   #4
melody1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 23
Smile

Finally it turned out to be as easy as typing http://pkg.nl.cobalt.com/i386/RaQ3-R...-3.23.37-1.pkg and hitting "install .pkg" button on Cobalt install control panel. After installing MySQL I could get vBulletin to work within minutes.

So everyone hesitating to go in for a Cobalt because it doesn't come pre-installed with MySQL should just go in for it http://geekvillage.com/ubb/smile.gif.

------------------
Melody1
melody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 12:14 PM   #5
suresk
Registered User
 
suresk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 958
Unhappy

It appears that pkg.nl.cobalt.com is down. Is there another place I can get the package?

Thanks.

------------------
Spencer Uresk
spencer@uresk.net
AdvertisingResults.Net - How good is the traffic you are buying? Track it and find out! Geekvillage Members save 30%!

<A HREF="http://www.dailystarts.com/topgc/" TARGET=_blank>
Daily Starts TopGreetings - Get listed and get traffic!</A>
suresk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 12:18 PM   #6
Kaiosama
Registered User
 
Kaiosama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 584
Unhappy

It's up for me...
Kaiosama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 12:37 PM   #7
suresk
Registered User
 
suresk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 958
Unhappy

Ah, thanks.
It wasn't earlier, but I was able to get MySQL installed a minute ago.



------------------
Spencer Uresk
spencer@uresk.net
AdvertisingResults.Net - How good is the traffic you are buying? Track it and find out! Geekvillage Members save 30%!

<A HREF="http://www.dailystarts.com/topgc/" TARGET=_blank>
Daily Starts TopGreetings - Get listed and get traffic!</A>
suresk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2001, 08:30 AM   #8
cco
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 51
Unhappy

Hi all. I thought I'd revive this thread since my problem is related.

I just installed mysql on my raq4 using the cobalt pkg and it went without a hitch. I can telnet in and get a mysql prompt and 'show databases' and see the default ones.

I am a total newbie to administering my own server, so please be kind if I stick my foot in my mouth :@.

My problem is this. I want to create a new database, so I telnet in, login as admin, type 'mysql' and get the 'mysql&gt;' prompt. Then I type 'create database mydatabase' and I get "ERROR 1044: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'mydatabase'".

So I read further on in the manual and discovered that there are mysql user names, and that I can grant privileges to users so they can manipulate the database.

So I tried using the grant command in various formats following instructions in the manual and from tutorials I've found, but I keep getting denied access to do what I need to do.

At this point, I think it's best to admit that I'm totally stumped and put myself at the mercy of people who have traveled this road before.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions,

Carl


cco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2001, 10:43 AM   #9
melody1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 23
Unhappy

After logging in as admin type the following to get into mysql. In my case userid is 'root'.

./mysql -uuserid -ppassword

You need to have the host name right in hosts file. Sometimes localhost may not work and you may have to use 127.0.0.1 or subdomain.domain.com in your etc/hosts file.

You can then create database as follows:
mysql&gt; create database mydatabase

You can connect to database using
mysql&gt; connect mydatabase

------------------
Melody1

[This message has been edited by melody1 (edited 07-18-2001).]
melody1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MySQL installation problems. b2gdotcom Web Development - Programming / Coding 3 11-29-2001 03:00 AM
RaQ4i for Database Driven sites? demae Web Hosting Discussion 8 09-06-2001 07:01 PM
Tip for heavy MySQL users: CREATE INDEX demae Web Hosting Discussion 4 05-15-2001 04:32 PM
vBullletin - Corrupted MySQL records! Steve_S Web Design and Webmaster Issues 5 02-06-2001 11:44 PM
mysql overload? notibrian Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 02-01-2001 08:03 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2014 iOnline Web Design. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.