Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR CREATION: Building & Maintaining A Web Site > Web Design and Webmaster Issues
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2001, 12:55 PM   #1
1lit
Registered User
 
1lit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: London
Posts: 282
Question Paint Shop Pro-blems Please Help!

Ive spent three days trying to resolve the following.

Basically, I need to create an image with at least 400 dpi which is 181 mm by 55 mm in size.

When I do File > New and specify these dimensions, the canvas size created by Paint Shop Pro is FAR larger than 181 mm by 55 mm. When I do View > Normal Viewing (1:1) it is about five screen lengths wide!

When I reduce the number of pixels per centimetre/inch in File > New, the canvas size is correct.

Surely the resolution should not affect the canvas size of the image?

Anyway, the printers say I must have at least 400 dpi for the image as it is for offline printing.

Why is the canvas size coming out to far larger than I specify in File > New ? How do I get a correct canvas of the correct dimensions with a resolution of at least 400 dpi?


Any advice would be much appreciated. Ive used Paint Shop Pro for years, but this issue is killing me

Thank you, thank you, thank you!


------------------
Nadeem Azam
Litmania.com Inc.

Free Banners - free website promotion
Web Banners - award-winning 1:1 banner exchange
1lit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2001, 02:21 AM   #2
FreemanTech
Registered User
 
FreemanTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Powhatan, VA USA
Posts: 130
Unhappy

Not sure -- I've had the same thing happen. It looked WAY big on the screen, but when I printed the picture it came out at the right size....

------------------
http://www.PCPowerMall.com
http://www.DigiDealership.com
http://www.TriviTainment.com
FreemanTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2001, 12:34 PM   #3
TSSR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK (South West)
Posts: 104
Unhappy

Are you sure you're using the correct unit scale.

I'm using PSP7 and I don't see the option for entering mm, only cm, so I entered 18.1 x 5.5 cm (which = 181mm x 55mm) 400dpi.

This gives an image which is about 75% of the screen with at 800x600.

Also, remember screen resolution is 72dpi (I think)

Hope this helps.

TSSR

[This message has been edited by TSSR (edited 06-21-2001).]
TSSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CuteFTP Pro - Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) & SSH2 singloon Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 04-07-2001 04:12 AM
Subscribe Me -or- Post Office Pro ? My-TGIF Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 03-21-2001 08:56 AM
Advert Pro? regier Web Design and Webmaster Issues 8 12-18-2000 09:23 AM
List Site Pro 2.1 anti-cheat gateway script needed!! kanilete Web Design and Webmaster Issues 3 07-27-2000 01:18 AM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2014 iOnline Web Design. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.