Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-26-2006, 03:45 PM   #1
thebizbucket

Default Private CPM banner deals

Hey All,

I am new to mainstream advertising world. Background is online but in other arenas

I am starting to look at privately purchasing CPM banner deals. The first I have purchased is from a friend for $1.10 usd CPM (uniques, on a 120x600 slot on his community site). It does about 70 CPM a day (70,000 uniques).

I am curious if this is a good rate to be paying. Not only that but is this sort of private banner deal a common thing, or is one normally forced to go through a broker ?

Was reading around this mroning a bunch. Seems like a good forum. Hope to be around more often..
thebizbucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 03:39 AM   #2
Czar

Webmaster

Welcome to Geek/Talk.

Direct buys are very common in the industry and are often a good idea. Targeting down to the individual site level through a network can often be just as costly, if not more so, while leaving you with less control and more restrictive payment terms. As a publisher, I love the networks and use a number of them a great deal. I would also eagerly use them as an advertiser if I wanted to manage a campaign through a single, simple interface with one budget to spread across multiple sites and if reach or pure metrics were my chief concerns. However, for advertisers who just want to reach a handful of sites and who are happy to monitor the placements individually, buying directly is a great idea.