Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with Email > Anti-Spam Talk For Webmasters
User Name
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2004, 11:32 AM   #1
Registered User
Furton's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 731
Default Is this spam?

Long time to see folks, just a quick question before I get back to this increasingly hectic life of mine

Is this e-mail spam? I've recieved it twice now and have ignored it but would like confirmation that it is spam

Dear Furton@tgnetwk.com,

We recently reviewed your account, and suspect that your PayPal account may
have been accessed by an unauthorized third party. Protecting the security
of your account and of the PayPal network is our primary concern.
Therefore, as a prevention measure, we have temporarely limited access to
sensitive PayPal account features.
Please click on the link below to confirm your information:


For more information about how to protect your account, please visit
PayPal's Security Center, accessible via the "Security Center" link located
at the bottom of each page of the PayPal website.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and appreciate your
assistance in helping us maintain the integrity of the entire PayPal
system. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.


The PayPal Fraud Management Team

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the header of any page.
Copyrightę 2004 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.

The internet headers are as follows

Return-Path: <apache@ns.ezclan.net>
Delivered-To: furton@tgnetwk.com
Received: (qmail 17362 invoked by uid 89); 6 Sep 2004 10:10:35 -0400
Received: from unknown (HELO ns.ezclan.net) (
by 0 with SMTP; 6 Sep 2004 10:10:35 -0400
Received: (from apache@localhost)
by ns.ezclan.net (8.11.6/8.11.6) id i86FZTW28335;
Mon, 6 Sep 2004 11:35:29 -0400
Date: Mon, 6 Sep 2004 11:35:29 -0400
Message-Id: <200409061535.i86FZTW28335@ns.ezclan.net>
To: furton@tgnetwk.com
Subject: Furton@tgnetwk.com - PayPal account Limited
From: service@paypal.com
Content-Type: text/html;
Furton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 06:52 PM   #2

Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 9,506

This is spam/wire fraud, yes. PayPal always address members by their real names ni any email correspondence they deliver.

One thing I'd like to know is, did the original link actually point to the URL indicated above? Most of the time, these links divert recipients to domains not controlled by PayPal, but mask themselves as genuine PayPal domains.

Follow Geek/Talk's Twitter Feed and Facebook Page to stay up to date with new discussion threads and online ad industry highlights.

Important GeekVillage Links: Home | Rules | Posting Guide | Report Trouble | Feedback | Advertise on GV
Czar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 04:43 AM   #3

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,753

Heh, there is a similar one coming from eBay also. I don't have an eBay account so I knew right away that was a spam to trick the unsuspecting into releasing their account details. I just hope that not too many fall for these lowlife tricks.

I was going to say **** (rhymes with spam) but it is censored
Jan is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spam of a strange sort Kathy Web Design and Webmaster Issues 6 12-13-2001 12:31 AM
ADMIN: SPAM! Steve_S Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 05-05-2001 10:23 AM
ADMIN: SPAM! Steve_S Marketing Your Website Online 0 05-05-2001 10:22 AM
ADMIN: SPAM! Steve_S Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 0 05-05-2001 10:19 AM
ADMIN: SPAM! Steve_S Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 05-05-2001 10:13 AM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.

GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.