Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR FOUNDATION: Web Hosting & Domains > Web Hosting Discussion
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2001, 05:59 AM   #1
demae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,291
Angry Tera-byte New Account down

I received this e-mail about 6 hours ago. As of this posting, the mentioned IP address still cannot be connected to ("No route to host").

Can someone else check for me to see if they can connect to that IP address?

From support@tera-byte.com Wed Jan 17 08:59:48 2001
Date: Wed, 17 Jan 2001 01:35:56 -0700 (MST)
From: Brenda Gunther via RT <support@tera-byte.com>
To: pmak@aaanime.net
Subject: [queue #79925] (support) Connection timed out?

We are doing maintenence on our firewall. Please try in an hour, as we
should be done then.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Brenda

> Hello,
>
> I just signed up for a new account with you:
>
> > Domain name: anime-skins.com
> > IP address: 66.51.112.6
> > Username: anime
>
> However, I cannot connect to it. When I try to telnet to 66.51.112.6, I
> get "Connection timed out".
>
> Traceroute from dialtoneinternet.com's network shows:
>
> traceroute to 66.51.112.6 (66.51.112.6), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
> 1 216.87.208.1 (216.87.208.1) 0.630 ms 0.556 ms 0.542 ms
> 2 serial3-0-7.hsa1.mia1.level3.net (63.212.176.29) 1.935 ms !H 1.903
> ms !H 1.931 ms !H
>
> Traceroute from interserver.net's network shows:
>
> traceroute to 66.51.112.6 (66.51.112.6), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
> 1 f0-0.core1.cftnnj.inet.vdi.net (216.74.64.1) 0.711 ms 0.430 ms 0.558
ms
> 2 * * *
> 3 * * *
> 4 * * *
> 5 * * *
>
> Is this just a temporary network outage, or did I get the wrong IP
> address?
>
> -Philip Mak (pmak@aaanime.net)

-------------------------------------------- Managed by Request Tracker
demae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 06:58 AM   #2
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Unhappy

yep.. my dedicated raq3 server at 4webspace/tera-byte was down for a while too i.e. www.anime2001.com was down

it' seems to be up now..

------------------[*]Australian Neon Genesis Evangelion[*]film - writers - reviewers - reporters - designers[*]FanBuy.com indevelopment
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 10:23 AM   #3
Steve_S
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Steve_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 5,224
Unhappy

the IP number you posted is not valid.

Your site via the domain name resolves just fine in my browser.

Your IP number is:

64.29.16.235

HTH



------------------
Best Regards,
Steve_S
Your Administrator
FREE Ecards for your site. Your pages and images = $$$ Tons of features. We host the script. The easy way to learn who links to your site in the major engines.
Steve_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 10:37 AM   #4
demae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,291
Unhappy

64.29.16.235 is the old IP address for anime-skins.com.

Well, I managed to get into my account after tera-byte gave me the main IP address to that machine (216.234.161.54). If I telnet to 216.234.161.54 first, then I can telnet into 66.51.112.6.

I can even view the website normally on my computer by:

(1) ssh to 216.234.161.54, and tunneling local port 80 to remote 66.51.112.6 port 80
(2) using TweakDUN to fool my computer into thinking www.anime-skins.com resolves to 127.0.0.1
(3) I can then access http://www.anime-skins.com/ in my browser

...so I can at least work on my site for the time being, although showing it to other people is kind of hard. http://geekvillage.com/ubb/smile.gif

Hopefully they'll fix the IP address soon. It's probably misconfigured on their end, since I can reach the main machine it's supposed to be on...
demae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 10:47 AM   #5
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Unhappy

yep Steve @ tera-byte said they are setting up a new firewall system for the raqs at 4webspace /tera-byte and there will be more downtime today - early morning their time..

so brace yourself http://geekvillage.com/ubb/smile.gif



------------------[*]Australian Neon Genesis Evangelion[*]film - writers - reviewers - reporters - designers[*]FanBuy.com indevelopment
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 02:50 PM   #6
Dave-AHFB
Registered User
 
Dave-AHFB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 375
Unhappy

hmmm, that explains this mornings problems.

Oh well, all hosts will have downtime, when it is due to upgrades you cannot get to upset.

I have never seen such quick response as I have with TB. demae, hopefully your issue will be resolved very soon.

dave
Dave-AHFB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2001, 03:17 PM   #7
fatale
Registered User
 
fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 231
Unhappy

I just wish they would inform everybody that they are going to do some work that affects server connectivity like everybody else does. I do understand that some downtime is unavoidable when you need to upgrade some stuff, but it is mighty annoying when you work on the server and then suddenly you lose connection to it for an hour and a half. I thought it crashed or was affected by DoS attack or something like that. Good thing their NOC replied to my e-mail with explanations right away or I would've had a heart attack or something...


------------------
Play online Chess and other games with real opponents.
No additional software to download, free registration, global ranking.
--> http://GameKnot.com <--
fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 12:31 AM   #8
notibrian
Registered User
 
notibrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Pg, Malaysia
Posts: 770
Unhappy

ha! i signed-up for my 2nd account with tera-byte 10 hours ago and face the same problem as demae ... and just mailed tera-byte about the error

by the way, my first account(signed-up last week) is working just fine http://geekvillage.com/ubb/smile.gif
notibrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2001, 12:37 AM   #9
demae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,291
Default

Date: Wed, 17 Jan 2001 12:27:41 -0700 (MST)
From: Mike Parie via RT <support@tera-byte.com>
To: pmak@aaanime.net
Subject: [queue #79925] (support) Connection timed out?

>I'm convinced now that something about the IP address 66.51.112.6 is
>misconfigured. I can connect to 216.234.161.54, but not 66.51.112.6.

Yes it looks as if that is correct, you wouldn't be able to reach one and not
the other.
there is a problem with the entire block of IP's routed in that class c to
that server. It will be fixed in the very near future.
demae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown person manages to get my affilialite account suspended... TSSR Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 8 12-17-2001 02:05 PM
Complaint: CWI Hosting (Suspended account without explanation) Just_Plain_Onion Web Hosting Discussion 4 08-01-2001 12:49 PM
PayPal: Personal or Premier Account? demae Web Design and Webmaster Issues 3 07-03-2001 07:40 AM
netradio suspended my account juice Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 3 07-21-1999 10:52 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2014 iOnline Web Design. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.