Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2002, 05:31 AM   #1
david11982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 236
Default Ad-Blocking Software

I'm not sure if this is news to anyone but me, but I was just browsing through amazon.com when I noticed something a little odd in the review for Norton Internet Security 2002. The writer of the review (Roger Gann, of Amazon.uk.co) states that "the ad-blocking feature removes banner ads from online sites, noticeably speeding up page downloads." I'm not sure how to give you the correct link to this page, as I don't want to pass along a page with an affiliates code in the URL. Just go to amazon.com and search for "Norton Internet Security 2002".

Does anyone out there know how this software can block ads? Are there any legal issues involved with making software that alters the original design of a webpage? I am very concerned that people are going to use this to block all banner ads on pages that they visit, thus putting a significant dent in internet advertising revenue.

Or maybe I'm just getting paranoid over nothing and nobody will use this software. I'd just like to hear your thoughts.
david11982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 06:32 AM   #2
jkcity
Registered User
 
jkcity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: England
Posts: 427
Default

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...755686-1868046

sadly this is not news the software has been around for a while and it saddends me to see it distributed with a product that many people will buy.


they block the ads by using filters on the page, and various over methods and they are pretty impossible to detect.

here is quite a nice article on it about user take up.
http://www.internetnews.com/IAR/arti...920241,00.html

They usually all block cokkies as well making text links which are usually cpa useless.

you get softwarethat you install on your machine, or you can just edit your hosts file with a list that will block calls to any adserver.

The university I goto blocks all the banners probabbly through soem kind of http server, I went and complained to the computer admin guys and they told me it was right because we where stealing there bandwidth nothing much you can say to people who are in that mind frame.


here is a a thread I was just reading on geekvillage about the same subject more or less.

http://www.geekvillage.com/forums/sh...threadid=16198

Last edited by jkcity; 04-15-2002 at 06:38 AM.
jkcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 09:59 AM   #3
JP Sauve
Member.
 
JP Sauve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 757
Default

Someone should develop some reverse software. Put it on the server and it checks to see if the banner can be downloaded. If it cannot (because of blocking software on the PC), the surfer is redirected to a "Sorry! You blocked my ads, I block you from my content." page.
JP Sauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 11:04 AM   #4
david11982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 236
Default

How can your university claim that you are "stealing" their bandwidth? Isn't a quality connection to the internet considered part of room and board? And aren't the servers set up for the sole purpose of allowing students access to the internet? I can't believe a place of higher education could be so ignorant. They don't realize that the internet lives on advertising and product/service sales, and they are trying to destroy that.
david11982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2002, 12:25 PM   #5
darnell
Registered User
 
darnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by suave
Someone should develop some reverse software. Put it on the server and it checks to see if the banner can be downloaded. If it cannot (because of blocking software on the PC), the surfer is redirected to a "Sorry! You blocked my ads, I block you from my content." page.
Already being done. See
http://www.cnn.com/TECH/computing/99...idg/index.html

and

http://www.cnn.com/2001/TECH/interne...idg/index.html
darnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 05:17 PM   #6
Zeras
Member.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by suave
Someone should develop some reverse software. Put it on the server and it checks to see if the banner can be downloaded. If it cannot (because of blocking software on the PC), the surfer is redirected to a "Sorry! You blocked my ads, I block you from my content." page.
Actually, this isn't very hard to do if you know web programming.
Zeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 05:26 PM   #7
Casale Media
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by suave
Someone should develop some reverse software. Put it on the server and it checks to see if the banner can be downloaded. If it cannot (because of blocking software on the PC), the surfer is redirected to a "Sorry! You blocked my ads, I block you from my content." page.
Now that's the right attitude! People listen to ads on the radio, see them in TV, read them in magazines, why should internet websites be any different.
__________________
http://www.casalemedia.com
Casale Media is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 08:28 PM   #8
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Well if your server supports PHP here is a simple scripts that detects if your users are using any ad-blocking agents or strippers

You can find the code at http://www.phpbuddy.com/report.php?d...article.php~20
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2002, 09:28 PM   #9
darnell
Registered User
 
darnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Default

See this old thread for other ways to do this.

These methods only work if the "Agent" is named as Ad-Blocking software. Most of these packages can now "spoof" the agent name to be IE or in some cases whatever the user wants.

The best way to go would be to detect the size of an ad that is displayed to ensure it is displayed. This only works with graphical ads on the page, but it would be a way to ensure if the ad shows that content shows also.

Basically, the first page would have to send the size of an ad to whatever other page the user tried to go to. So if the user clicked a link from page 1 to page 2, page 1 would have to send the ad size to page 2 and if page 2 found that the size was not correct, then send the user to a page telling them that ads must be shown.
This method is currently being used by some sites, but I've never seen someone code this and make the code generally available. It it not very hard to do though.
darnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
twoblog.com - blogging software for sale irvinehosting Website For Sale - Purchase - Barter - Trade 1 06-18-2004 08:49 PM
USA Today on ad blocking software brunnock Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 33 03-18-2003 05:47 AM
First Banner & Popup Blockers, Now This... Darryl StopScum 6 10-02-2002 02:22 PM
IP to country lookup software, pricing help roy7 Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 19 09-20-2001 10:22 PM
A view of a employ of an ad network on ad blocking <|+ Taz Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 0 09-02-2001 01:56 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2014 iOnline Web Design. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.