| Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk |
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 31
|
I have no idea what site I signed up to receive an optin from AdScholar, but they say I did. However, in the e-mail they sent it was a paragraph advertisement and nothing more. When I tried to remove myself there was an error so I couldn't remove myself. Also the reply to e-mail address does not work.
URL To remove your e-mail: http://www.adscholaroptin.com/cleanlist Reply-To: From : "AdScholar Optin" <adscholaroptin@bin.com> (Adscholar doesn't even own the bin.com domain. I think they chose that domain to refer to trash bin.) Webmasters and advertisers using beware of this company. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 123
|
The person who registered the domain http://www.adscholaroptin.com doesnt even know how to spell their own city. (Milwaukee)
All the contact info points to their offices in California except for the actual city and state it is registered under.
Last edited by WebFanatic; 01-23-2002 at 07:00 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
![]() Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,752
|
Sorry to drag this out of the dusty basement, but I just received one of these too
Quote:
__________________
Darwin NT World Travel Forum |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 631
|
Go to that remove URL that Jan posted and click submit (leave the box blank or just type in garbage) it doesn't error but I goes to
http://www80.nortelnetworks.com/?ULogin=hhhg Now that's some fishy stuff. I'm adding this domain to the banned list for my e-mail users. None is coming in now. ;-) |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
![]() Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,752
|
I don't as a rule go to any remove URLs as it is probably going to collect my address for another round of spam. Some I will, if they really look authentic, but this remove address had jdavis*** ID.
Mr Spamcop will take care of it for me
__________________
Darwin NT World Travel Forum |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Spam of a strange sort | Kathy | Web Design and Webmaster Issues | 6 | 12-12-2001 11:31 PM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:23 AM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Marketing Your Website Online | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:22 AM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:19 AM |
| ADMIN: SPAM! | Steve_S | Web Design and Webmaster Issues | 0 | 05-05-2001 10:13 AM |
![]()