Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR CREATION: Building & Maintaining A Web Site > Web Design and Webmaster Issues
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2001, 12:28 PM   #1
Magic2K2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 99
Default Store images on a free server to save bandwidth?

Does anybody see any problems with getting a free account in addition to my paid account and storing my images on the free account to save bandwidth? Obviously, I slow load time a bit, but if the free server is reliable, I can't see any major problems.

Your thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Magic2K2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2001, 12:40 PM   #2
Rob
Registered User
 
Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 56
Default I can see one problem.

Free hosts offer free hosting based on the simple fact that they cover their bandwidth costs with advertising which they put on your site. If all you have on your free account is images then the host makes no money and is only giving away 100% free bandwidth. So I think its safe to say that if you attempt to host images ONLY on a free host you'll probably get busted and have your account revoked.

While the idea is crafty it is also flawed a bit. It would be great if we could all save money by doing that but sooner or later someone gets stuck with the bandwidth bill and then everyone downstream of them will be affected.

One option you can look at is using something like mod_gzip (I think that is what it was called). There are posts somewhere in one of the geek talk forums regarding this. It reduces the size of your pages and such that apache serves.. might help bring your BW bill down.

Thats my thoughts on this matter...
Rob
Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2001, 12:52 PM   #3
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Default

yeah i agree with what gtek said.. mod_gzip is nice but it won't do anything to help a graphic and image intensive site anyway

what i do now is get a rackshack.net server and i basically sell off image/file only hosting bandwidth to webmasters for very low bandwidth costs US$0.90 - 2/GB depending on the amount

you might want to do that so you can

1. host your own images remotely on your own raq4 server
2. make some extra $$$ to cover the raq4 server costs as well

just an idea
__________________

.

Last edited by singloon; 10-18-2001 at 12:53 PM.
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2001, 04:42 PM   #4
batcavenet
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
batcavenet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Batcave
Posts: 186
Default Free Server Abuse

I run a freeserver and it's reasons like this that free webspace is slowing going away Most hosts like mine don't allow image linking remotely for obvious reasons. I would suggest for paying for what you actually use since it shouldn't be that much, and if you don't make enough to cover your own bandwidth costs then you are doing something wrong..
batcavenet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2001, 11:27 PM   #5
cyburrr
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
cyburrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 695
Default

Sites like Geocities and Tripod don't allow this anymore. I know several webmasters who had to a huge number of red X's where graphics used to be - so even if you found one that worked - it might not last, and might cause a lot of work.

If it's not a huge amount of graphics, you might want to try the space your ISP provides. That at least is built into the price, so you are paying for it, and if you're a good customer, it's less likely they'll just pull the plug on you.
cyburrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2001, 12:05 AM   #6
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Default

actually tripod can do it still but you need to change urls to

downloads.member.tripod.com/file

i think
__________________

.
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dually Dedicated Hosting Special (Save $) Steve_S Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 11-28-2001 12:45 PM
Be Free introduces the Acclaim Program. 007 Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 1 08-16-2001 07:05 AM
Can free content sites survive? JJJay Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 31 08-14-2001 04:08 PM
Any PPCSEs offering free credit? 1lit Marketing Your Website Online 0 03-06-2001 07:50 AM
Promoting a free email service Edwin Marketing Your Website Online 4 08-15-2000 03:34 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2014 iOnline Web Design. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.