Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR FRIENDS: The geek/talk Community > Technical Questions about geek/talk
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2002, 01:37 PM   #1
Steve_S
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Steve_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 5,224
Arrow Server down - fixed

Hello All,

Our dedicated server was down for about 1.5 hours this AM. Some of you could not reach the site.

The /tmp partition filled up. This has been fixed. The server know uses a directory for this (not a partition) as in /tmp so it's unlikely to ever run out of space.

My appolagies for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Steve_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 02:27 PM   #2
madaweb
Registered User
 
madaweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Maine
Posts: 157
Default

Hi Steve
Thought you should know that for some of us it was down from around 9:30AM Eastern time to about 2:00-2:30PM this afternoon.
Glad your back.
madaweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2002, 02:54 PM   #3
Steve_S
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Steve_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 5,224
Lightbulb

Yep. I checked my error_log again and the down time was about 4 hours. I was sleeping for most of this time.

What a way to start the day
Steve_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 12:06 AM   #4
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Default

what filled up the /tmp directory ?
__________________

.
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 07:54 AM   #5
Furton
Registered User
 
Furton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 731
Default

I'm guessing it was server logs right Steve? I had the exact same problem last week.
Furton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 12:32 PM   #6
Steve_S
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Steve_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 5,224
Default

Good question and I'm not 100% sure but server logs sounds like it's probably the reason.

DI fixed the issue so fast I was still poking around on the box to see when the sites came up. They even called me which has never happened before and I can assure you, I'm a small fry with them. My tape BU also gives me 4 free tickets every month.

The story:

Check email. NO email. PW prompt

None of the sites resolve in a browser

Three large bolts of cafeene

Hello Dr. Root. Telnet in. Yep the box is still running and was not rebooted. <cry - uptime 101 days> Lookie lookie, theirs Georges neat Mysql tweaks. DB still running and topics appear on remote sites via last10.php. All the other services are running.

Another large bolt of Java

Restart Apache and Named

Run to my other line. Still no sites in a browser. Trace is fine.

I can see the geeks hitting the site.

Open ticket with the emergency flag

While the ticket is open I take a gander at my error_log

<Gasp>

Dozens of these:

[Thu Sep 5 11:54:38 2002] [error] mod_gzip: EMPTY FILE [/tmp/_18435_347_248.wrk] in sendfile2
[Thu Sep 5 11:54:38 2002] [error] mod_gzip: Make sure all named directories exist and have the correct permissions.

22 minutes later sites resolve and the phone rings. Hello <surprise>

A minor tweak or two and all is well

Today:

Fri Sep 6 13:30:56 EDT 2002


1:30pm up 1 day, 25 min, 0 users, load average: 0.05, 0.15, 0.14
107 processes: 106 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
Mem: 772124K av, 587608K used, 184516K free, 0K shrd, 13184K buff
Swap: 1575744K av, 18340K used, 1557404K free 402856K cached



Http processes currently running = 36
Mysql processes currently running = 42

Netstat information summary
1 ESTABLISHED
15 TIME_WAIT
18 LISTEN


Steve_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2002, 05:13 AM   #7
singloon

GeekGuide
 
singloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Default

are it was mod_gzip's tmp files... reason why i configure mod_gzip's tmp directory as /home/modgziptmp or something
__________________

.
singloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Down - Up and fixed Steve_S Technical Questions about geek/talk 2 04-14-2002 03:12 PM
Accepting payment on a shared server? denasio Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 3 08-21-2001 03:24 PM
Dedicated Server Security Notice badassbuddy Web Hosting Discussion 4 07-16-2001 10:06 AM
Enabling FXP on my server? ccole Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 08-09-2000 05:58 PM
Server security alert ? help ? singloon Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 07-20-2000 10:17 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.