Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2002, 09:13 AM   #1
jokearound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 739
Default adv.com banners not showing?

hey all,

is anyone else having problems with adv.com's banners? yesterday the scrapers werent showing, today, 468x60s and scrapers arent showing..

is that happening to anyone else?
jokearound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 09:24 AM   #2
kryton
Registered User
 
kryton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK - London
Posts: 605
Default

all working for me
kryton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 09:46 AM   #3
YongF
Registered User
 
YongF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 13
Default

No problem here!

:-)
YongF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 10:00 AM   #4
Blubster
Registered User
 
Blubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 183
Default

Welcome to Geek/Talk YongF


Advertising.com working fine here (CPMs appart).

jokearound, when this happens to me, I try to see my pages thru http://www.anonymizer.com/ so that I detect if it is a problem in my side.
Blubster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 10:18 AM   #5
YongF
Registered User
 
YongF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for your greeting, Blubster!

Actaully, I have been lurking here for quite a while -- almost checking the forum every day for new posts.

Finally, I decide to walk from the shadow to have your opinons and share my experience as well.

Hey, I think I find a good place to stay.

:-)
YongF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 10:50 AM   #6
jokearound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 739
Default

blubster - how do you do that? anonymiser blocks out all js code, ads etc..which is pretty annoying
jokearound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 11:16 AM   #7
Blubster
Registered User
 
Blubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jokearound
blubster - how do you do that? anonymiser blocks out all js code, ads etc..which is pretty annoying
Oops! I guess it only works for <IMG> tags.. sorry!

Quote:
Originally posted by YongF
Thanks for your greeting, Blubster!

Actaully, I have been lurking here for quite a while -- almost checking the forum every day for new posts.

Finally, I decide to walk from the shadow to have your opinons and share my experience as well.

Hey, I think I find a good place to stay.

:-)
It is always good to share (look at the Blubster software )
Blubster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 11:45 AM   #8
LastActionHero
Registered User
 
LastActionHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 615
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jokearound
blubster - how do you do that? anonymiser blocks out all js code, ads etc..which is pretty annoying
Off topic but try Megaproxy.com
LastActionHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 11:50 AM   #9
jokearound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 739
Default

I think they booted me off their network actually

I received a notice a while back they were stopping serving to my old account (which I wasnt using) at 5pm last nite..strangely co-incides with the banners stopping working on my current account.

although, I can still log in and get code, see example banners, my stats, etc etc..so im not sure whats going on. ive emailed support and my rep, but god knows when they will get back to me
jokearound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 12:48 PM   #10
Czar

Webmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 9,506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jokearound
although, I can still log in and get code, see example banners, my stats, etc etc..
When sites are terminated from Advertising.com's AdGlobal network (or whatever its current incarnation is called), they can indeed still log in to their respective member areas.

I have no idea why this is the case, as Adv.com staff have been notified to this on several occasions, but sadly this indicates that simply having the ability to view your stats does not mean that your account is active.

<offtopic>
Welcome x3, YongF. Love your avatar. I bet I can guess what your answer to this thread will be.
</offtopic>

<mod note> Although I appreciate that the suggestions posted by LAH and Blubster above were made in good faith and with no negative undertones, can we please refrain from discussing proxy services in this or any thread in the future. I'm sure that most of you will appreciate the reason for this.</mod note>
__________________
Czar

Follow Geek/Talk's Twitter Feed and Facebook Page to stay up to date with new discussion threads and online ad industry highlights.

Important GeekVillage Links: Home | Rules | Posting Guide | Report Trouble | Feedback | Advertise on GV
Czar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 04:33 PM   #11
jokearound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 739
Default

thats just great..fantastic.

now then..where to go for banners now? grrr..oh well, they ****** so bad, it was only $3 a day or so..
jokearound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 06:53 PM   #12
jokearound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 739
Default

got a reply back from support - both accounts were disabled because they werent getting enough US traffic..strange that, doubleclick reports 75% US impressions..how much do they want?! and a bit of notice would have been nice too..
jokearound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2002, 07:00 PM   #13
kryton
Registered User
 
kryton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK - London
Posts: 605
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jokearound
got a reply back from support - both accounts were disabled because they werent getting enough US traffic..strange that, doubleclick reports 75% US impressions..how much do they want?! and a bit of notice would have been nice too..
DoubleClick reported my US traffic as 75% and adv.com said I had over 66% US+UK+CA. I'm now using my own adserver I wrote based on http://www.geo-ip.com and only showing adv.com ads to US+UK+CA, I would be interested to know what % of my impressions are now US. I will have to wait until next month to be able to see if DoubleClick notices an improvement, since their stats seem to show the whole month as a total.
kryton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2002, 04:48 AM   #14
JustSurfing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 103
Default

if you're using advertising.com as a doubleclick default, then all of the junk international traffic is being filtered out to advertising.com... that would be my guess. That's the danger of the default.
JustSurfing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Websponsors banners not showing emmzee Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 2 03-05-2001 10:02 PM
Network For Bottom-Position Banners? wsz Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 1 12-27-2000 10:56 AM
Average CMP with CPC banners segmy Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 2 09-10-2000 09:33 AM
Advertising.com banners not showing? AK Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 2 09-02-2000 01:45 PM
Advertising.com house banners? AK Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 4 08-25-2000 03:36 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.