Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2002, 04:20 AM   #76
Fromage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 78
Default

Funtoon, IE 6 blocks cookies if they come from a third party and they don't have a decent privacy policy. This is the default status in IE 6, so most people use it. Site's own cookies and CJ's cookies work properly. I have tested it.
Fromage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2002, 05:59 AM   #77
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Fromage: Funtoon, IE 6 blocks cookies if they come from a third party and they don't have a decent privacy policy. This is the default status in IE 6, so most people use it. Site's own cookies and CJ's cookies work properly. I have tested it.
Yup I know about I.E 6 Privacy policy I am setting the cookie to sites own root so there in no issue of a third party cookie (the cookie is being set from the site iteself)

Its only that users have such a wrong notion about cookies that many are using third party utilites to block cookies, Many third party softwares have cookies crushers in them example: ZoneAlaram Pro, its not just ad-blockers that are hurting us, but a combination of these stuff, that is why I have given the option of cookie control in the Antiadbuster Pro.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2002, 04:59 PM   #78
europeforvisitors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default

People use ad blockers for a simple reason: Too many Web sites have gone crazy with their use of pop-ups, pop-unders, huge skyscraper ads, multiple banner and button ads, etc. I suspect that many users have turned to ad blockers not because they're opposed to ads, but because they can't go from one page to the next at a site (or leave the site, for that matter) without enduring a barrage of in-your-face messages from Orbitz or an Internet casino. It's the equivalent of reading a magazine and having several tipped-in reply cards fall into your lap every time you turn a page. (Fortunately, magazine publishers are smarter than most Web publishers are, and they know when to stop.)

Instead of running anti-adblocker scripts, publishers should learn how to use advertising effectively. Relevant, targeted advertising is often welcomed by readers, while run-of-network ads for sleazy products and annoying pop-ups or pop-unders are a turn-off for nearly everyone.
europeforvisitors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 05:46 AM   #79
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by europeforvisitors
People use ad blockers for a simple reason: Too many Web sites have gone crazy with their use of pop-ups, pop-unders, huge skyscraper ads, multiple banner and button ads, etc.
I agree with you some webmasters are using excessive pop, pop-under ads which is really annoying.

But here our fight is with crafty ad-blockers, the latest breed of ad-blockers are blocking not only banners, ads, pop-ups etc but even harmless affiliate links, text links and cookies this is too much we as webmasters need to protect our site from these kind of applications.

BTW I had got some mails that users were not able to access the antiadbuster site I have moved Antiadbuster to a new server and bcoz of that the site was down temporarily.

I have also installed forum on the Antiadbuster site http://www.antiadbuster.com/forum/index.php so that Antiadbuster users can get help not only from me, but also fellow antiadbuster users.

I have followed what Steve has said earlier and made a secure hidden forum for Antiadbuster Pro, I am currently testing some modules for the pro version and will soon start the beta program, I am currently testing the pro version on some of my sites.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2002, 02:37 PM   #80
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default Antiadbuster Pro Beta Update

Hi,

I got a few pm from you geeks, regarding when the beta programm for Antiadbuster Pro will start, I am sorry for the delay I am currently testing out some modules (I am currently testing the pre beta release on some of my sites and tweaking the modules) I should be able to start the beta programm within a week.

Thanks again for bearing with me
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 05:12 AM   #81
Yrlec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 17
Default

Funtoon, I just wanted to thank you for your great software, I haven't yet installed it on my site but I will as soon as I get the time to do so. After reading this thread I have com up with a few suggestions on how to make your software even better.

1. Encode the PHP-source with an encoder (for exxampele )microCODE PHP Encoder. This will make impossible for others to see your code, "security by obscurity". I don't know if there are similar softwares available to ASP, hopefully there is.

2. I haven't looked at your JavaScript detection code so I don't know if this is already implemented but you can use the document.images.length variable to count how many images that are actually loaded into the page. The webmaster can then set a minimum that fits his site and if the document.images.length is below the minimum then the user can't access the page. This will also detect users that have disabled images in their browser.

3. You can also use the onerror event for all objects of choice to detect if an images doesn't load. Here's an exampele from MSDN

<SCRIPT>
var sImg='<IMG STYLE="display: none;" ID=oStub ALT="Default Text">';
function fnLoadFirst(){
oContainer.innerHTML=sImg;
oStub.onerror=fnLoadFail1;
oStub.src="";
oStub.style.display="block";
**
function fnLoadFail1(){
oStub.alt="Image failed to load.";
return true;
**
</SCRIPT>

<INPUT TYPE=button VALUE="Load First Image" onclick="fnLoadFirst()">
<DIV ID=oContainer></DIV>

The reference for the onerror event is available here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...ts/onerror.asp

4. For the pro-version I suggest you use an database-abstraction layer so that webmasters that don't use MySQL also can use it. This will widen your market quiet a lot. ADOdb is a quiet good one.

I hope this will help to improve your program even further!
Yrlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 07:13 AM   #82
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Hello Yrlec and thanks for all the info and your suggestions!

I am also looking at encrypting the Antiadbuster Pro code but the problem with installing the PHP encoders modules is that you, need to recompile your PHP server to install the encryption module and this is a big problems if you are using a shared server. I donít think your host will agree on that and I guess many of us fall in that category

If only some sort of encoding/encryption function was built in with PHP it would have been great!

Yrlec why donít you join the Antiadbuster Pro beta program your suggestions will help us a lot, pm me if you want to join.

I have built almost all the necessary needed modules for Antiadbuster Pro, Some modules are still in development like the online update etc, but I think I should be able to start the beta program.

I will post some screen shots of the Antiadbuster Pro Administration screen in a couple of hours
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 12:19 PM   #83
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default Antiadbuster Pro Screen Shots

Okay here are some screen shots of Antiadbuster Pro (Admin Control Panel)

http://www.antiadbuster.com/pro/preview/pro_preview.htm

The data shown in the screenshots is from a live website on which I had installed Antiadbuster Pro a couple of weeks ago.

Let me know if you have any suggestions.

I should be able to start the beta program in about 3-4 days, I can still acomodate 3-4 more beta testers if you would like to participate in the beta program PM me.

Please note to participate in the beta program you will require PHP4, and MySQL database.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2002, 04:49 AM   #84
Yrlec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
I am also looking at encrypting the Antiadbuster Pro code but the problem with installing the PHP encoders modules is that you, need to recompile your PHP server to install the encryption module and this is a big problems if you are using a shared server. I donít think your host will agree on that and I guess many of us fall in that category
The software I showed you can be loaded as a dynamic module either via the extension parameter in php.ini or using dl().
Some webhosts doesn't allow the use of dl() so it doesn't solve all problems but at least it's easier than re-compiling.
Yrlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2002, 09:35 AM   #85
wezman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Posts: 85
Default

Hi I got this email today, someone reckons the anitabuster incorrectly says he is using ad removing software when he uses iCab.

"Your software is not working correctly and is preventing Mac users of the iCab browser from accessing your articles. I am running the latest version of iCab. I have no add blocking software but I cannot access articles on your site. Sorry, but I switched away from M$ and I will switch away from your site if I have to. Lots of other similar sites."
wezman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2002, 09:38 AM   #86
wezman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
[I am also looking at encrypting the Antiadbuster Pro code but the problem with installing the PHP encoders modules is that you, need to recompile your PHP server to install the encryption module and this is a big problems if you are using a shared server. I donít think your host will agree on that and I guess many of us fall in that category

If only some sort of encoding/encryption function was built in with PHP it would have been great!
What about PHP Guardian?

http://www.phpguardian.com
wezman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2002, 01:16 PM   #87
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Hi wezman,

I dont have a mac at my place, but I havent got any complaints like this before, anyways you can add icab to the legal agents list, so that antiadbuster will not check for ad-blocking on detecting icab browsers.

If anyone is using a Mac + icab browser and can test it out it would be great.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Other Programs like AntiAdBuster Pro? Gracklor Web Design and Webmaster Issues 0 05-08-2003 11:06 AM
AntiAdBuster Pro for just $29.95 instead of $79 Special Christmas offer Steve_S Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 12-07-2002 12:42 PM
AntiAdBuster Pro launched! - Discount for GV Members. Steve_S Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 10-20-2002 11:37 PM
The war against ad blockers. Bryan Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 10 07-01-2001 11:36 PM
Another sabotage at Click Agents? janette Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 6 02-15-2000 12:05 AM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.