Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR PERFORMANCE: Website Promotion, Marketing and Growth > Business Principles
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-09-2001, 08:01 AM   #1
demae

Question What hourly rate to charge for programming?

How much do you think that I can charge for programming (websites)? I have extensive experience in perl and MySQL.

I'm mainly busy getting my Ph.D. in Computer Science, but I like to do some programming jobs on the side to increase my experience, make a little money and build up some contacts.

I made $2000 last month from doing some programming for $50 per hour. With my demanding schedule, 10 hours (maybe 20) a week is the maximum that I can handle. I'm finding that I may end up getting more business than I can handle (my current client told me that many of his contacts have asked him where to find a good programmer, and he will refer them to me once I'm done working for him). So, it would seem to be logical to increase my price to the point where the amount of business I get is just right.

What price do you think would be reasonable? I was thinking of raising my rate to $75 per hour. It may seem expensive, but I think back to something that happened with my current client: He had another programmer who cost $25 per hour. He had a problem that he needed fixed; that programmer worked on it for a week and failed. Then he told me to do it, and I succeeded in 2 or 3 days. So even if I charge more per hour, if I get the job done faster it doesn't necessarily cost more.

<Admin icon fix>

Last edited by Steve_S; 07-29-2001 at 04:17 PM.
demae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2001, 08:48 AM   #2
FreemanTech

Unhappy