Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2010, 09:38 AM   #1
cyburrr
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
cyburrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 695
Default Ad code scrambled by html editors?

This could just as easily go in the3 Webmaster Issues forum - but my ads not showing up is effecting my revenue. so .....

My ads are sometimes coming up as Chinese type characters ... most often on Blackberry's ... on my iphone you just see the html coding.

I've done some experimenting - I have 2 pages the exact same ... I put one company's ads on page 1 ... the other company's ads on page 2 .... page 2 is giving me headaches.

Another consideration (the page was fine for years without making any changes - except for updating the content area daily) - I recently tried downloading and working with some html editors (my laptop with dreamweaver crashed). Initially, I blamed the free/cheap editors ... but then - I downloaded a trial fo Dreamweaver 4 - and am still having issues. Mostly, it looks fine in DW - but a mess when uploaded. DW has shown 'errors' in the ad coding too.

Question is - has anyone had the same nightmare ... I mean experience? I don't know if it's the ad coding, the editor - or could the ftp client be causing it?? Gaaaaahhhh!

Thanks
cyburrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 04:55 AM   #2
praveen


 
praveen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a Distant land far away from reality
Posts: 431
Default

after you make the changes, save the file with a new name.

backup the old file and delete it.

then rename the new file to the old file name and then upload.

i have faced almost similar issues and the above has worked fine
praveen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:46 PM   #3
cyburrr
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
cyburrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 695
Default

Thanks praveen!
I'll give that a shot
cyburrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:18 AM   #4
ContentSpooling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah, it's important to backup first the file before you do anything on it. So just in case there is problem, you can get back the old one.
ContentSpooling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:08 PM   #5
Gennie32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 37
Default

whenever you make any changes please give the files new name
Gennie32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 01:41 PM   #6
cyburrr
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
cyburrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 695
Default

I've sent my laptop to HP for repair (for a reasonable cost of $299 - apparently the model has known problems). In the meantime I'm doing any editing in Notepad. I had downloaded a trial of DW. On the day the trial expired I started putting the notebook in sleep mode. Yes - it's cheating I s'pose - I managed to extend the program by having it running for almost 2 weeks. Then one of my kids shut it down ...lol. Now the notepad is overrun with viruses *sigh* Karma I think. So - notepad it is. Actually, I'm enjoying coding this way again (and am for sure backing up the good files). Thanks again for your feedback.
cyburrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 06:11 AM   #7
propertyncr
Registered User
 
propertyncr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Posts: 1
Cool

Thanks dear for sharing this informations
propertyncr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 05:55 AM   #8
alemcherry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyburrr View Post
I had downloaded a trial of DW.

There are many free HTML editors available, give them a try!
alemcherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 10:25 PM   #9
llage001
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks dear for sharing this informations , i study
llage001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Page break HTML code harry Web Development - Programming / Coding 5 10-22-2001 11:53 PM
HTML Code Error? click2mo Web Development - Programming / Coding 2 08-25-2001 01:33 PM
Large Sites and New HTML Editors Questy Web Design and Webmaster Issues 3 12-06-1999 08:45 PM
HTML editors Questy Web Design and Webmaster Issues 35 06-30-1999 03:03 PM
HTML editors .. A different spin ... $$$ Questy Web Design and Webmaster Issues 4 03-30-1999 05:30 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.