Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2002, 10:20 PM   #46
funpage
Registered User
 
funpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: New York
Posts: 876
Red face

For some reason, I can still see your site when ad muncher is on. I hit refresh with the adblocker on, yet I can still see your site: http://www.bathroomjokes.com/images/admunch.gif (screenshot). I also tried adsubtract and I can still see your site w/o ads as well.

I am using Windows ME with IE 5.5
funpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 10:29 PM   #47
funpage
Registered User
 
funpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: New York
Posts: 876
Default

The code works when I go to http://www.phpbuddy.com/bust/index.php but when I go to funtooshtimes.com it doesn't appear to work.
funpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 10:55 PM   #48
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

I tried it with ME and 5.5 with admuncher and it works this is what i get

http://www.funtooshtimes.com/tmp/admucher.gif

Well I think the cookie is giving some problem can you please delete your cookies and test it again at http://www.funtooshtimes.com

I modified the code, now the script checks everytime a new user comes to the site, in the phpbuddy the script checks everytime for adblocking.


Thanks for testing it!

can you tell me which ver of admuncher you are using you can mail me directly at ranjit@funtoosh.com

Last edited by funtoon; 04-22-2002 at 11:13 PM.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 12:10 AM   #49
jkcity
Registered User
 
jkcity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: England
Posts: 427
Default

works ok now.
jkcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 12:44 AM   #50
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Thanks!

Just modified the code, now works even if cookies are completely disabled! and solved the page reload bug

Now I have installed the script on one more live site
http://www.phpbuddy.com and http://www.funtooshtimes.com if possible check them and let me know the results.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 12:51 AM   #51
jkcity
Registered User
 
jkcity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: England
Posts: 427
Default

yer they work as well but as I said earlier my browser is set to accept all cookies no matter the source, if you tell me the cookies name I will take a look for it and see if its being set on my computer.
jkcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 12:59 AM   #52
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

The cookie name i was setting is "ad_blocker_found" but dont worry as I have modified the code so even if cookies are completely disabled it will work
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 01:05 AM   #53
jkcity
Registered User
 
jkcity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: England
Posts: 427
Default

could not find the cookie, you may want to look into why its not setting as other things are able to set them.
jkcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 01:12 AM   #54
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Default

Well I forgot to mention I had changed the code, Now I am setting self expiring cookies that kill themselves the moment the browser is closed.

The script is now doing the job as expected I hope, previously I was setting a cookie and keeping it for 12 hrs so that if the same user comes the script will not check for ad-blocking, now it checks every time the user comes to the site.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 06:10 AM   #55
funpage
Registered User
 
funpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: New York
Posts: 876
Default

Ok, it works now! Keep up the good work!
funpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 09:14 AM   #56
darnell
Registered User
 
darnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Cool

"antiadbuster" Sounds like a cool name .

Last edited by darnell; 04-23-2002 at 09:14 AM.
darnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 04:26 PM   #57
maddeningcrowds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 719
Default

In respect of text links, a simple solution seems to me to use a link redirector, its dead easy to set up a script on your domain, something like

http://www.domain.com/link.asp?id=X

Best of all you can link your content in the same way, so if your ads are blocked your content is also blocked.

It doesn't stop cookie blocking etc, but it might be a good step in the antiadbutser process.

The big ad networks have just as much to loose as us webmasters do, so there is a big pool of money and resources to fight this problem as it gets worse.
maddeningcrowds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 04:50 PM   #58
Guava
Registered User
 
Guava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 631
Default

Maddening,

one problem with your link redirection idea is that the "referrer" the networks and merchants will see will just be a script. They do not like that since they can't tell what page actually sent the click. This may be possible in the future but right now it might get you booted or leads reversed.
Guava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 07:53 PM   #59
funtoon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: India
Posts: 402
Thumbs up Antiadbuster Launched

Hello everybody the wait is over just launched antiadbuster made a small site http://www.antiadbuster.com

Currently it works only with PHP, I am working on the ASP version

Just my contribution to the community and thanks all of you without your comments/suggestions it would have been nearly impossible

Last edited by funtoon; 04-23-2002 at 07:55 PM.
funtoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2002, 08:11 PM   #60
Guava
Registered User
 
Guava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 631
Default

:-) Quick site launch.

Just out of curiousity I turned on my "test" copy of AdSubtractPro and went to antiadbuster.com. I know there are no ads but I think it would be funny as well as a good demonstration to use your program right on that site too.

I figure people with ad blocking should be allowed to see the anti-ad-blocking site. Maybe it's funnier to me than everyone else but I got a laugh out of the idea.
Guava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amazon launches "Context Links" Czar Making Money with CPA Programs 5 03-31-2007 06:55 PM
getAttribute() question aredamkrik Web Development - Programming / Coding 11 08-27-2005 01:16 AM
GoTo text links? Where? strungout Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 5 09-03-2001 08:05 PM
Searchboxes vs. Text Links? robot Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 5 03-18-2001 07:08 PM
Goto text links sdarken Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 1 08-30-2000 11:50 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.