Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR FOUNDATION: Web Hosting & Domains > Web Hosting Discussion
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-12-2008, 05:10 AM   #1
ebookey

Default Free or payed blog hosting ?

I want to start a blog site to promote my main site. Should I register a new domain or a subdomain on my existing domain ? Free or payed blog hosting ?
ebookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 05:17 AM   #2
Nutri

I's say if your blog was related to your site, it could be a subdomain. If it was not related a new domain wouldnt hurt I suppose. But I'm new to all this
Nutri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 12:42 PM   #3
appage

Well if its only going to be a blog then you might as well just use wordpress. Free hosts aren't really too good.
appage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 06:44 PM   #4
Czar

Webmaster

Yes, definitely avoid free hosts if you can; unless the blog will largely be built for hobby purposes or as a non-profit tool. In those cases, jumping aboard one of the popular blog hosting communities would be the easiest solution.

If the blog is being created for commercial purposes, find a reliable host, install Wordpress as appage suggested (some hosts come equipped with control panels that will install this tool for you very quickly, simply and at no cost), then skin the site with an appropriate design and start blogging away!

Follow Geek/Talk's Twitter Feed and Facebook Page to stay up to date with new discussion threads and online ad industry highlights.

Important GeekVillage Links: Home | Rules | Posting Guide | Report Trouble | Feedback | Advertise on GV
Czar is offline   Reply With Quote