Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2000, 10:16 AM   #1
CyberMan
Member.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Question How to target banners for a country?

Is there any easy way to target banners for a particular country or exclude certains countries from a campaign based on IP address?.

I use webadverts but would further like to target certain banners only for visitors from particular countries. I am not looking for commercial ad targeting packages but for a simple list of country specific IPs that I can use to write a CGI script. Is there already such a script and has anyone used such script?. Thanks for your input.


------------------
CyberMan
cyber_man2000@email.com
CyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2000, 10:59 AM   #2
CyberMan
Member.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Unhappy

It looks like targeting by such a high entity as country also will need a large IP database lookup. So the answer might be only commercial tools. Is there any other quick solution?. If it's even 75% accurate targeting that's good enough.

------------------
CyberMan
cyber_man2000@email.com
CyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2000, 01:48 PM   #3
woutah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 40
Smile

A while ago, I had to do something similar (a banner campaign targetted to a belgian audience). I wrote this small php script for that purpose:

//get ip address
$ip= getenv("REMOTE_ADDR");
// get dns addr
$address= gethostbyaddr($ip);
// check the country code (xxxx.be -> Belgium)
if (eregi("\.be$",$address,$x))
{
// include belgian banner
include(belgian_banner);
**
else
{
// include default banner
include(default_banner);
**

It's possibly not the best solution since some ip addresses do not resolve, and it takes a somewhat higher load on your webserver, but it's the only way I know http://geekvillage.com/ubb/wink.gif

woutah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2000, 03:46 PM   #4
WildComputer
Registered User
 
WildComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: See Answers 2000 Limited
Posts: 2,618
Unhappy

The time of day is something else you can do too, at least as a hint...

Rather than reverse loop up which could be slow, you could big a database of each country's IP ranges locally, look up the IP's country more quickly,

------------------
WildComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2000, 05:30 PM   #5
dcengr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 16
Unhappy

You can do it two ways that I'm aware of.

1) Real time resolves, with a time out so that slow resolves don't hang your page.

2) Caching resolves combined with cookies so that you can serve them the ad on the second time around.

Generally, method 1 works better. You also don't need 100% resolves, depending on your traffic.

Once you resolve their hostname, just parse off the country code and check that before you serve your ad.
dcengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2000, 01:26 AM   #6
WildComputer
Registered User
 
WildComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: See Answers 2000 Limited
Posts: 2,618
Unhappy

Quote:
Once you resolve their hostname, just parse off the country code and check that before you serve your ad.
Don't a lot of other countries than US using dot-com dot-net etc. too ????? So won't you wrongly think these people are US people if you chop the code ??

Wouldn't it'd be more accurate to know which IP range is allocated to which country (which is publically available info) and look at the IP address directly ??

------------------
WildComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2000, 08:12 AM   #7
dcengr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 16
Unhappy

The key thing here is to remember not to get 100% of your traffic targetted.

You may get 1000 true belgian visitors but you don't have to show all 1000 of them the targetted ad. But you do know that 500 came with belgian extension so you are fairly certain the person is from that country. So you serve 500 ads.

This is how adnetworks do their targetting. Ofcourse the traffic is much higher for an adnetwork so ridding an inventory is less of a problem than a site that may only get 5 true belgian visitors per day.
dcengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How good do you target your banners ? anton Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 9 09-19-2001 12:01 PM
Network For Bottom-Position Banners? wsz Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 1 12-27-2000 10:56 AM
Country specific banners space for sale.. Helza Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 12-13-2000 07:53 AM
Average CMP with CPC banners segmy Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 2 09-10-2000 09:33 AM
Advertising.com house banners? AK Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs 4 08-25-2000 03:36 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.