Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR REVENUE: Making Money On The Internet > Making Money with CPC and/or CPM Programs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-19-2001, 09:17 AM   #1
roy7

Default IP to country lookup software, advice?

Hi guys. I ran this by Steve_S, I wasn't sure if it was appropriate to bring up. He said it'd be okay. So here I am.

I've been doing software development for many years, but almost never tried to make money from the projects. I enjoy programming, coming up with new idea, improving on existing ideas, etc. It's just plain fun.

A bit of history. For my gaming site www.mpog.com we wanted to do some country based targeting of CPA deals. Some deals are only valid out side of the USA. Some are only valid to people in the USA. Also, I have friends who own huge sites with big overseas traffic. It seems like they should show ad tags from foreign networks (Hi Media, WebAds, Doubleclick Asia, etc) to users from the appropriate countries.

So I wanted to make this happen. I looked around and the only semi-affordable option was RealMapping, at $3K for the single country lowest end version. For all countries, it was $10K. I didn't have $10K. This drove me, eventually, to come up with a way to create my own database of IP addresses and how they relate to countries (with an acceptable level of accuracy). I did, and it works well.

The small startup I work for currently will be lowering it's expenses soon, so I'm considering selling the country software as a way to make some extra income. Or if it was popular enough, I could improve and support it as a full time job. That'd be a dream come true.