Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR PERFORMANCE: Website Promotion, Marketing and Growth > Business Principles > StopScum
User Name
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 08-09-2001, 10:13 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 697
Question Is KazAa spyware? I know BearShare is...

Some one posted in here that BearShare was spyware. Is Kazaa spyware? I recently found http://www.KazAa.com which allows you to search their network without their software (the search hasn't worked for weeks now). I was tempted enough to download their software, but my anti-virus software showed the attempts to change registries on my computer.

They seem to have a lot of users (I believe it is #4 or #6 on C|Net's Download.com). I was even able to find an MP3 of a rare song that was only released on tape millions of years ago (Perry Como's "I love you and don't you forget it", in case you're curious).

Is it SpyWare? What lists exist to check if it is? Pretty great Napster alternative (for downloading legal MP3 files), but I won't install it until a fellow geek gives me the go-ahead.
OC is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
67% Infected with spyware Larwee Web Design and Webmaster Issues 1 12-03-2004 03:22 AM
Could Spyware be stealing my ads? njpete Web Design and Webmaster Issues 3 06-25-2004 01:21 PM
Cnet does a piece on spyware - Kazaa darnell StopScum 0 10-17-2001 05:07 PM
[IMPORTANT] Ezula is placing ads all over your site and stealing your visitors PlanetLaunch StopScum 106 08-23-2001 06:19 PM
KazAa Jan StopScum 18 08-22-2001 01:06 AM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.

GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.