Webmaster Forum Rules | Posting Guide | Contact Us | Testimonials | Contributing Geek Program | Advertise on Geek/Talk
Welcome to the GeekTalk Webmaster Discussion Forums from GeekVillage.com

Click Here To Register. It's Free!

Go Back   geek/talk: Signature-free discourse for serious web publishers > YOUR FRIENDS: The geek/talk Community > Technical Questions about geek/talk
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2006, 10:18 AM   #16
Bondings
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 283
Default

I noticed it on other threads too I think, but am not so sure about it anymore.

Anyway, did you fix something? It doesn't seem to happen anymore.
Bondings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 08:40 AM   #17
Jan

Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,753
Default

Nothing got fixed. I woke next morning and my forum time was correct again. It took a while for newest posts to catch up, but they did and that was the last we saw of the "bug" Technology!
Jan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 10:07 PM   #18
Czar

Webmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 9,506
Default

Those are my favourite sorts of bug fixes...the ones that happen automatically.

All we need to do is leave some cyber surface spray in the right corners and the bugs die all by themselves.
__________________
Czar

Follow Geek/Talk's Twitter Feed and Facebook Page to stay up to date with new discussion threads and online ad industry highlights.

Important GeekVillage Links: Home | Rules | Posting Guide | Report Trouble | Feedback | Advertise on GV
Czar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:06 PM   #19
Del
Registered User
 
Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: At a computer
Posts: 374
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan
'Twas more than 24 hours ago, and 4 members or *bots* signed up the evening (Aus time) of the real start of this thread and next morning a new member signed up but was 5th in new signups
Wha??
Qua?
Uuuuhhhhh...



Some of it could be the personal setting where you can make the newest post appear on top, and/or daylight savings?


EDIT: Sorry, I didn't think to see if there was another page of the thread.

Last edited by Del; 11-01-2006 at 09:08 PM.
Del is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 02:10 AM   #20
Jan

Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,753
Default

Seems our little bug is back

http://www.geekvillage.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=32090
Jan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 02:24 AM   #21
Del
Registered User
 
Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: At a computer
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan
There were two, One I'm pretty sure was my fault and the other it was me or another poster. ^^;;
Del is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 02:35 AM   #22
Jan

Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Beautiful Darwin
Posts: 4,753
Default

It isn't your fault, just a time setting somewhere. If you view who's online you will see some are browsing a couple of hours in advance. It should right itself properly in around 1.5 hours. My forum time is correct now. If you open the forums from an unlogged in browser and search todays posts, you will see something like:

This forum requires that you wait 10 seconds between searches. Please try again in 4935 seconds.
Jan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 04:49 AM   #23
Del
Registered User
 
Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: At a computer
Posts: 374
Default

Well the thread was fine before I posted in it.


That's a weird bug.
Del is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 11:13 AM   #24
Steve_S
I am a Contributing Geek. Are You?
 
Steve_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1998
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Posts: 5,224
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan
It isn't your fault, just a time setting somewhere. If you view who's online you will see some are browsing a couple of hours in advance. It should right itself properly in around 1.5 hours. My forum time is correct now. If you open the forums from an unlogged in browser and search todays posts, you will see something like:

This forum requires that you wait 10 seconds between searches. Please try again in 4935 seconds.

"This forum requires that you wait 10 seconds between searches. Please try again in 4935 seconds."

Yep, that exact message appeared yesterday for me (i'm always loged in) and even occured when I clicked the xxx unread posts link below my name at the top. This little bugger just went away as I type this and everything is back to normal. Go figure! A self healing buglet.
Steve_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 03:02 AM   #25
Czar

Webmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 9,506
Default

This should hopefully be resolved now. We've activated the Network Time Protocol Daemon (NTPD) to auto update the time on this server, which should ensure that the server time - at the very least - does not jump around.

If this does happen again, please let me know as this will indicate that the vB script is at fault.
__________________
Czar

Follow Geek/Talk's Twitter Feed and Facebook Page to stay up to date with new discussion threads and online ad industry highlights.

Important GeekVillage Links: Home | Rules | Posting Guide | Report Trouble | Feedback | Advertise on GV
Czar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 11:31 AM   #26
jgand
Registered User
 
jgand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Anytime I have the time. What's better than a forum. A lot of great ideas can be found.
jgand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:16 PM   #27
ruby.mein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 71
Default

I never get noticed it. In that case maybe you just thought you posted it but the reality is it was just a preview. I've been like that for several times. I thought I did.
ruby.mein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:26 AM   #28
tufail123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, I'm a newbie here at geekvillage, and I recently received an e-mail notification that someonehas replied to my thread. However, when I clicked on a link, I did not see any replies to my thread.

Do I need to go through a different procedure to see the replies or how am I not seeing the reply?

Thanks!


_____________________
aliiiii

Last edited by tufail123; 10-29-2014 at 06:28 AM.
tufail123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FORUM CLOSED FOR NEW POSTS Steve_S Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 10-09-2001 06:07 PM
READ BEFORE YOU POST: Forum Rules/Procedures Steve_S Archives of old posts from Let's Barter/Trade, Buy, & Sell 0 08-14-2001 11:48 AM
ADMIN: New Hosting Forum Open Steve_S Marketing Your Website Online 0 12-28-2000 12:50 AM
ADMIN: READ ME. FORUM OPEN. Steve_S Marketing Your Website Online 1 09-26-2000 10:12 AM
ADMIN: NEW SITE PROMOTION FORUM Steve_S Marketing Your Website Online 3 07-05-2000 11:08 PM

Please support our advertisers. They ensure our survival.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


GeekVillage.com is copyright © 1998-2015 Curiosity Cave - Science gifts for clever kids. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.