PDA

View Full Version : Introducing myself - RoxanneJ

RoxanneJ
08-26-2001, 11:35 AM
Hello Everyone! I'd like to introduce myself around here:

First, my name is Roxanne and like most folks around here, I am a programmer, web designer, business owner, and all around net "geek."

I started my business in 1984 as a programmer and in 1996 my husband left his "outside" job to join my company. Yeah, we work back to back in a home office and after 5 years of it, we still married and both alive. :D

I am a "do-er," not a talker and I am possessed to DO something about this nightmare. I have talked to attorneys (some of the best in this field) and I have mailed, emailed, and called anyone and everyone who I think can help us from Senators to attorneys to major news stations.

In reference to the attorneys, I think we can hold out hope in this arena, but I don't think we can sit back and hope the legal field is our salvation. If you think about this, you'll come to a simple conclusion -- Napster has been in the courts for a long time, Napster was shut down and forced into a different business model by the courts. And what happened?

Well, here's what happened -- we're here today discussing KaZaa and iMesh *because* of the Napster lawsuit. When it was decided that the Napster business model wouldn't work, geeks came up with a different model....and they are named TopText, Surf+, Gator and all the rest we don't even know about yet.

I don't think we can count on the courts for help. While I have no doubt that these practices will be found to be illegal, I also have no doubt that another geek somewhere will come up with another. This is a war we can't win with one or two cases. Sure we can will the battle against ezula and filemix; but the war will wage for a long time to come.

So where do we go? How do we win the war?

First, we have to devise a battle plan; one all can agree to wage. Below are my thoughts: